Mourning Dove meet the {im}Patient Sparrow

Shot through the screen door on the back deck a save feeding place.

As I was trimming my ivy yesterday it grows madly & cascaded down to the sidewalk}, an American Red Robin mauled and dead , the poor little love huddled in an attempt at refuge and survival.

Clearly Lucky the Cat who is so very unlucky for Birds and has been for the last decade, especially ground feeders like the lovely American Robin, did a number on the little guy.
How do I know it was him- as I was chatting with my neighbor on the day previous as I tried to mow her lawn ( never happened too many divots I think bad Golfers visit her garden at night )
She told me her cat Lucky walked in with a Robin ( yes right they strolled in together no doubt) he just played with it and then the bird left, how very civilized eh.

She’s a lovely Lady she really is, as are my parents, as is my sister, and thousands of other cat owners, but their heads are in the sand..
Yes I have had Cats, 2, Call who had a litter of 4 one of whom was Shogun,
I loved they dearly and they never went out but for an early escape into my garden and I learned all there was to know about fleas the little nasty critters.

They did lounging on (second floor) porch or on window sills, and the occasional car ride for Call, Shogun had no interest in rides.

Please people keep your Cats indoors, they are pets, not wild, it’s not survival of the fittest its opportunist killings and it’s nonsense, there is no excuse to allow Cats outdoors to run havoc on Birds and other wildlife.

I’ve seen very few American Robins, Crackles and Catbirds recently…

The American Bird Conservancy estimates that up to 500 million birds are killed each year by cats — about half by pets and half by feral felines. “I hope we can now stop minimizing and trivializing the impacts that outdoor cats have on the environment and start addressing the serious problem of cat predation,” said Darin Schroeder, the group’s vice president for conservation advocacy.

By contrast, 440,000 birds are killed by wind turbines each year, according to the United States Fish and Wildlife Service, although that number is expected to exceed one million by 2030 as the number of wind farms grows to meet increased demand..

www.nytimes.com/2011/03/21/science/21birds.html

www.google.com/search?client=safari&rls=en&q=cats…

4 thoughts on “Mourning Dove meet the {im}Patient Sparrow

  1. The more I think of it the more insane it is, we somehow feel that Cats deserve more consideration than wild birds do. Do we let Dogs run wild, no.
    Wild Birds serve our environment better than the millions of cats we allow to roam and kill as they see fit.
    Selfishly I’m also disgusting to have to find cat turds scattered in my garden & vegetable beds because some ass doesn’t want to be responsible for their own pet, must their cat use my and others property as their litter box.

    http://www.cat-repellant.info/html/diy-cat-deterrents.htm

    Such nonsense surround our garden with chicken wire.

    • you know what else is insane?
      That wordpress seems to create a problem with passwords and I’ve had to reset mine in Nov of 2010, in April, and now again and although I did yesterday had to do it all over again just now and when I try to post to a wordpress blog I’m told I have to sign in and when I do even though I already am, I have a wrong password shake, goodness sakes…. and yes people that allow their cats out even though they KNOW they kill birds, are horrors.

Thank you for your comment!

